skip to Main Content

Russia hosts the first FIFA World Cup on two continents

Just a bit more than two months are left till the beginning of the 21st FIFA World Cup, June 14 till July 15, which host will the largest county in the world, Russia, for the first time in its 88 long history. Russia will host 32 national teams on 12 stadiums located in 11 cities, where 64 matches in total are going to be played. There is no doubt that such fantastic country and its hospitable people, despite problems with finishing works at several stadiums and fact that a true diplomatic war is waged against it, will be an excellent host to all who decide to visit it this summer. The World Cup will be played on two continents for the first time in its history – Europe and Asia, although it is stressed that Europe is the host of the World Cup for the first time since 2006 when Germany had the honour. Island and Panama are debutants, while Peru made the longest break out of all team that qualified, as it participated the last time at the World Cup in 1982.

Only Europeans and South Americans won the World Cup so far

Only national teams from Europe (Italy and Germany four times; England, France and Spain one time) and South America (Brazil five; Uruguay and Argentina two times) have won the World Cup so far. Brazil has the most titles and it won them at four different continents. It also participated at each and every World Cup so far, and it has five titles in total. Germany, after triumph in Brazil four years ago, won its fourth title and become the first after Brazil which won titles at minimally two continents. Italy is the only one out of eight national teams which won titles so far that failed to qualify for the final tournament for the first time since 1958. At last two World Cups defending champions were eliminated already in the group phase – Italy 2010 and Spain 2014. If Germany defends the title it will equalise with Brazil in number of won titles and become the second team after Brazil which managed to defend the title (Brazil defended the title at the WC 1962).

BookmakersSign Up Offers
888sport ReviewBet 10€ Get 30€
TipBet Review100% up to 100€
10bet Review50% up to 100€
22bet Bonus100% up to 122€
BetWinner Bonus100% up to 100€
Intertops Bonus100% up to €100
willhill100% up to 125€
bet-at-home Review50% up to 100€
BetOnline Bonus50% up to 1000
bet365Claim your open account offer*
*Open an account with bet365 today and bet on a huge range of markets with the world’s favourite online sports betting company. Gamble Responsibly. T&Cs apply. 18+

32 national teams will take place at the final tournament.

Six national teams (Uruguay 1930, Italy 1934, England 1966, Germany 1974, Argentina 1978) had won the title when being the host of the World Cup, while the last to do so was France which triumphed in 1998 when the World Cup changed the format to 32 teams. The format hasn’t been changed since then. South Africa is the only host county, 2010 World Cup, which failed to reach the knockout phase. The home team hopes, despite not so good performances displayed in preparatory matches, that will not be the second host county team which is eliminated already at the beginning of the final tournament. Winners of last three World Cups were European teams; Italy 2006, Spain 2010 and Germany 2014. Fact that Italy failed to qualify for the World Cup leaves Spain and Germany as strongest European teams who can keep the title in Europe, while Brazil and Argentina will try to return the title to South America for the first time after 2002 when Brazil won the World Cup played in South Korea and Japan, as it is hard to expect that a team from some other continent is strong enough to win the title now.

Cities and stadiums

Moscow (Luzhniki und Otkrytiye-Arena)

Sankt Petersburg (Krestowskij-Stadion)

Yekatarinburg (Ekatarinburg-Arena)

Kaliningrad (Arena Baltika)

Nishni Novgorod (Nishni-Novgorod-Stadion)

Rostov on Don (Rostov-Arena)

Samara (Cosmos-Arena)

Sotchi (Olympia-Stadion Fisht)

Kazan (Kazan-Arena)

Volgograd (Volgograd-Arena)

Saransk (Mordovia-Arena)



Without English referees, Saudi Arabian Al-Mirdasi suspended by his country

FIFA has revealed the list of 36 referees and 63 assistants from 46 countries for…

The participants will share $400 million

The World Cup in football has always been a chance to make a big money…

FIFA announced official slogans for all teams

FIFA has announced at its web site slogans of all participating teams. The winning slogans…

Road to Russia – 210 national teams started, 31 from 5 Confederations arrived

Even 210 FIFA members from six Confederations had started long and exhausting road to Russia,…

Jail for Russian hooligans, deportation for foreigners

Russian government does all it can to visitors and football fans feel safe and confortable…

Russian journalist sought money for sex

Russian journalist Dana Borisova, who was supposed to be speaker of special programme during the…

Back To Top